Last but not least, we’ve got the most recent addition to the Patchwork Press team. The ever wonderful, K.N. Lee will be joining our ranks! She is one of the most genuinely wonderful people and talented writers around and we know you’re going to love her (and her books!).


K.N. Lee is an award-winning author that resides in Charlotte, North Carolina. When she is not writing twisted tales, fantasy novels, and dark poetry, she does a great deal of traveling and promotes other authors. Wannabe rock-star, foreign language enthusiast, and anime geek, K.N. Lee also enjoys helping others reach their writing and publishing goals. She is a winner of the Elevate Lifestyle Top 30 Under 30 “Future Leaders of Charlotte” award for her success as a writer, business owner, and for community service.

A video hello from K.N. Lee…

As promised, after last week’s announcement of Amy McNulty joining toe Patchwork Press family, we’ve got a new addition. Next up! Majanka Verstraete! I (Kellie) have known Majanka for several months now and promise you, she is all kinds of incredible! And now we all get to look forward to working with her in the future.


majanka

Majanka Verstraete studies law and criminology by day and writes speculative fiction by night. All her books include monsters of some kind: the good, the bad, and just about every species in between. Her first books were the Valentina’s Spooky Adventures series, a children’s picture book series featuring a little vampire girl. She also worked on the Weirdville series, a series of scary lower grade chapter books ideal for fans of R.L. Stine. She also has some young adult series in progress, Mirrorland, a YA dark fantasy with two books out, “Fractured” and “Reflected”. The first book in her other YA paranormal series, The Angel of Death Series, “The Soul Thief” released in November 2014. The second book in that series, “Demonic Pact”, is scheduled for late 2015.  Her upcoming YA paranormal mystery series is called Allegro Academy. When she’s not writing, she’s probably playing World of Warcraft or catching up with the dozens of TV series she’s addicted to.

A note from Majanka…

My name is Majanka, and I’m thrilled to meet you. I’ve been writing for a long time, but my first book was published in 2013. Since then, I’ve written over a dozen books, and I have many more in progress. When I’m not writing, I’m probably busy studying (I studied law, and am now studying criminology), reading ghost stories, playing World of Warcraft or watching Netflix. If you want to know more about me, please ask! I love chatting with authors and readers.

Today Patchwork Press is EXTREMELY excited to welcome the first of our newest authors. Our family is growing quickly, and we couldn’t be more excited! So, first up! Amy McNulty! We’ve actually worked with Amy a little before, when she wrote a pep talk for Write All Year earlier this year. And now we couldn’t be more pumped that she’s on board to join our publishing family. She’s got a lot of exciting things on the horizon, and we can’t wait to share them all with you!


 

amyAmy McNulty is a freelance writer and editor from Wisconsin with an honors degree in English. She was first published in a national scholarly journal (The Concord Review) while in high school and currently writes professionally about everything from business marketing for web content producers to anime for Anime News Network. In her down time, you can find her crafting stories with dastardly villains and antiheroes set in fantastical medieval settings, although she’s been known to try a contemporary or historical manuscript on occasion. She’s the author of the Never Veil Series (Nobody’s Goddess, book one, released in April 2015), and she’s excited to bring her even darker YA fantasy, Fall Far From the Tree, to Patchwork Press. One part Marvel Comics’ Runaways, one part Game of Thrones and with four first person points of view, Fall Far From the Tree examines how four progeny of villainous figures cope with their parents’ nefarious deeds in drastically different ways.

A note from Amy…

Hello, YA readers, daydreamers and lovers of all things fantastical! I’m so excited about working with Patchwork Press to release my next YA fantasy, Fall Far From the Tree. I’ve always been drawn to villains and antiheroes in fiction, and I think medieval-like fantasy settings are among the safest ways to examine them. Evildoers feel several steps removed from our everyday life in a fantasy world, so their villainy is a little easier to swallow. Even so, I care about the dark heroes with a little bit of good in them far more than the outright evil types, and that’s why I chose to focus on the teenage children of villains in this book. Not all of them are innocent themselves–far from it–but they were raised to believe in their parents’ good intentions, so it’s no easy task for them to recognize that vileness in the people they love the most for what it is. I hope you’ll check out the book to see how these four drastically different young adults peel back the layers of the personas their parents crafted for them to discover who they truly are.

And thank you, Patchwork Press and my fellow authors, for being so welcoming and providing this book with a home!